Monday, October 21, 2013

Mariah Carey: The Greatest Unreleased Tracks Vol. 2 (Bootleg Vinyl Comp) (2008)

Here is a bootleg 12" dressed up like an official Island Records promo featuring an assortment of remixes and rare tracks from the one and only Mariah Carey. Aside from perhaps tracks 2 and 6, there aren't any true 'unreleased' tracks here, just mostly rare-ish remixes and a b-side track from the Daydream era (Slipping Away.) The two unreleased tracks are an unreleased remix of Touch My Body done by long-time collaborator DJ Clue? and a feature with N.O.R.E. and Big Pun from 2006. The remix of Touch My Body features Clue's typical piano-driven riffs though it does sound slightly off-key in
respect to Carey's vocals, particularly during the verses. He obviously laid down a track but Carey never re-recorded her vocals so he just used the original vocal take instead. The feature with N.O.R.E. and Big Pun was supposed to be on the former's cancelled 2006 album 1 Fan A Day for Rock-A-Fella Records and later showed up on a few mixtapes and bootleg 12"s. Altogether a nice set of tracks but the sound quality sadly isn't great. The record was either cut bad or the bootleggers recorded the tracks with the gain up way too high. The sibilance is pretty bad.

1. Bye Bye (Remix) feat. Akon & Lil Wayne
2. Touch My Body (Remix) feat. Cam'Ron
3. Don't Forget About Us (Remix) feat. Bone Thugs-N-Harmony & Juelz Santana*
4. The One (So So Def Remix) feat. Bone Crusher
5. Say Somethin' (So So Def Remix)
6. Friends feat N.O.R.E. & Big Pun
7. Slipping Away

*Remixed by Jermaine Dupri

Listen: Touch My Body (Remix) feat. Cam'Ron

Listen: Friends feat. N.O.R.E. & Big Pun